home image
Curriculum Standards

In order to be as broadly useful as possible, Ratana educational materials are organized based on the National Standards for Academic Disciplines. These standards are defined as follows:

AR – Arts (ArtsEdge)
CG – Civics and Government (CCE – Center for Civic Education)
EN – English (NCTE – The National Council of Teachers of English)
GE – Geography (National Geographic)
HE – Health (AAHE – American Association for Health Education)
HI – History (NCHS – National Center for History in the Schools)
MA – Mathematics (NCTM – The National Council of Teachers of Mathematics)
MU – Music (MENC – The National Association for Music Education)
PE – Physical Education (NASPE – National Association for Sport and Physical Education)
SC – Science (NSTA – National Science Teachers Association)
SS – Social Studies (NCSS – National Council for the Social Studies)
TE – Technology (ISTE – International Society for Technology in Education)

Neither Ratana nor its producers has any formal relationship with any of these entities. We simply reference their standards and objectives to make our educational materials easy to use by teaching professionals.

In addition to the above, Ratana educational materials may include the following (coded in lower-case to distinguish them from the standardized materials):

bu – Business
ec – Economics
ee – Environment and Ecology
la – Language and Linguistics
pa – Performing Arts